Located a few km from Sami village towards Antisamos beach,and about half way in between, you will find a signpost. The monastery was built in 18th century on the spot where the miraculous icon of Theotokos was found by two shepherds and their maid in 1722.

Following the discovery of the icon, they decided to live a monastic life. The monks Gabriel and Simon and the nun Pelagia constituted the first staff of the Monastery and worked tirelessly towards making it a place of worship and as well as increasing its estate. Ag. Kosmas the Aetolian gave sermons here during his passage through Sami. In remembrance of this, a little chapel has been built outside the yard of the Monastery.

The Monastery celebrates on August 15th (Dormition of Theotokos) when a lot of devout worshippers from all over the island gather. A second celebration takes place on the 24th of the same month, the feast of Ag. Kosmas the Aetolian.

The views to Antisamos beach as well as to Sami, Agia Efimia and Ithaca island are breathtaking.

 

Can be combined with the walking trail of Ancient Sami that starts from the nearby Agioi Fanentes Monastery.